When I try to explain to people that many things they think they know are largely contrived, I get a mix of confusion and frustration. Most people have a real hard time admitting they’re off the mark. It doesn’t have to be that way in fact, I actually tend to take some joy in knowing I was wrong because it means I’ve somehow improved my understanding to admit my intellectual fallibility. I’ve done some pretty dumb things in my day, no need to hide from it; I’ve learned a thing or two.

I kinda feel that way right now because I’m 32 years old, and I just learned how to tie my shoes! Really.

This video from what I understand was the first speech given at TED. If you don’t know about TED, I’m putting a link in the blogroll. Ideas worth spreading. For now, enjoy 3 minutes illustrating our ignorance. On me.

