Ok, here’s the deal. We have this facebook thing, and it can be a good thing. For instance: there are a great many of you I have lost contact with over the years, and it’s great to see that most of you are doin’ fine. It makes me smile. Now having said that, let me begin my rant.

If you haven’t read it yet, an earlier post described what I think the problem with this social network is in a “macro” sense. Let me break it down into a more easily digested format. Facebook makes money by stealing your personal data, and selling it to the highest bidder. They do this to target ads personally to you, data mine for trending conversations, collaborating with the NSA and federal government, and now to serve you court summons! Yay! Everything in your profile according to their terms of service, is legally the property of FB.

In-Q-Tel, a venture capital firm established by the CIA, also had a hand in creating the wildly popular social network Facebook. “The second round of funding into Facebook ($US12.7 million) came from venture capital firm Accel Partners. Its manager James Breyer was formerly chairman of the National Venture Capital Association, and served on the board with Gilman Louie, CEO of In-Q-Tel,” writes Matt Greenop.

Now armed with that info, let me explain why I don’t play with Mafia Wars, Farmville, or any of the other 5 million 3rd party apps, and keep my address, phone number etc. closely gaurded, not that I’m really trying to hide from the government but my privacy is important to me. It’s a principal thing.

Every time you hit “accept” to find out who it was that voted you best looking, honest, best hillbilly golfer, whatever……..it asks you right there if you are willing to open your profile to this 3rd party. The thing is, this 3rd party probably isn’t as frugal with your info as a big name like FB would have to be. And then BAM! , you click away your right to privacy.

Here’s a more expedient example. I have an android phone. When I set it up, it came with a facebook app native to the OS. One push of a button gave me every phone number for every friend I have on FB that had one listed. Photos as well. See? Just like that.  By the way, big mistake ’cause now my phone is LOADED with contacts I never call.

Anyway, thank all of you who have requested my participation in these little games. Some are even flattering. However, my policy will remain to abstain. I would rather be writing anyway. The best way to interact with me, would be to sign up here, and make some conversation that will only be on MY personal wall. And I promise never to sell your data.

 

